Saturday, November 27, 2010

Lookey Loos and Gossip Mongers

I've always wondered why there is a segment of the population that just loves to wallow in gossip. That feed off of drama, bad energy and anger like starving hyenas. These people are so miserable being themselves that the only means at their disposal that give any meaning to their lives is to furtively forage into the lives of others, and the more garbage they find the happier they become, clapping their hands together in glee at the misfortunes of other people. They don't care about anything good or positive nor do they care to focus on the best in the people around them. They look for the dirt, the mud, and the worst in people. The worst the better. More to gape, more trash to spew out of their mouths.

I've had this blog since 2006. It's a place where I like to write and process my thoughts and feelings. I don't advertise it, because frankly it isn't anybody's business. Since I started it, I've had maybe 15 people visit , who have basically stumbled upon it by accident. Since last week, I've had over 260 people visit. It's not something I'm grateful for or happy about, because the people who are visiting are scavengers; empty, bitter men and women who got wind of something negative, something dirty, and like diseased rats stick their noses up in the air, sniffing earnestly for any stench of gossip they can follow and perpetuate with their like minded brethren.

Honestly, they make me sick.

I will never apologize for being who I am. I will never apologize for expressing myself when I feel I have a right to. This is my personal blog and I can write anything I want to. My personal life is nobody's business. I felt used and I expressed what I felt in a normal, matter-of-fact way. People can agree or disagree. I don't care. But when somebody comes into my world spouting hateful comments and vicious accusations, because they don't agree with me, I will defend myself. I'm not going to let anybody sully my reputation for the simple reason that they don't like how I think or perceive things. Sorry that isn't my problem.

I have bumped into a couple people the last few days who have looked at me with disdain, acting as if their opinion of me matters. People who automatically jump to conclusions based on the ramblings of an angry woman who probably isn't used to anybody questioning her motives. Just for the record, it doesn't matter. Speaking more directly, you don't mean anything to me whatsoever. Feel free to make your faces, make your comments, talk smack to your fellow hyenas and do all the other things Lookey Loos and Gossip Mongers like yourselves do. It's what you thrive on. It's your sun, water, and food, what makes you grow. What keeps you bitter, angry and single. I have a quote that applicable to every one of you who fits in this category. "What you don't see with your eyes, don't witness with your mouth."

I have my friends who I love and care about very much. They know me in a way that you never will and they embrace me exactly as I am. You aren't part of my life nor am I interested in having you in it. You are everything I despise in a human being, the same attributes you deep down despise in yourself.

I feel sorry for the lot of you.

Wednesday, November 24, 2010

Dancing with the Stars: Season 11

I can freestyle dance fairly well, but I have absolutely no clue how to do specialty dances like the Texas Two-Step, Ballroom, Salsa, etc. I've even taken some lessons, but to no avail. I'm still a klutz.

Because I've made the effort to learn, I know how difficult it is, which is why I admire the people who participate in Dances with the Stars. I watch sometimes with my jaw on the floor at the intricacies of some of the moves. They really are amazing.

As couples were eliminated one by one I was perplexed that Bristol Palin and her partner managed to avoid the axe every week. I give her a lot of credit for entering the competition with zero experience as an actress, performer or dancer and going head to head with other contestants who left the womb doing a dance routine. However, I felt that there was a lot of back room politicizing going on as well, which helped feed the ratings.

When Brandy got dumped in favor of Bristol I was really taken aback and couldn't understand how people could elevate her another level at the expense of a woman who had so much more obvious talent. Comparing the dancing talents of both is like comparing a bottle of exceptional Pinot Noir with a bottle of Boon's Farm. It's unfortunate that people voting were more concerned about Bristol's mother's political credentials than Bristol's dancing abilities.

What counted, however, was the final and I was glad to see Jennifer Grey and her partner, Derek Houghm, give an amazing performance at the final and ultimately showed everyone that true talent always rises to the top.